Latest News

Rottnest Island Authority welcomes new board members

Rottnest Island Authority welcomes new board members

  • Two new board members commence today, including new chairperson
  • Outgoing members thanked for their contributions to the island

Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC, Governor of Western Australia has today appointed two new members to the Rottnest Island Authority (RIA) Board.

John Langoulant joins the RIA Board as chairperson, replacing outgoing chairperson John Driscoll.  Mr Driscoll departs the board following his recent appointment to the position of chief executive officer of Seven West Media.

Also joining the board is Hannah Fitzhardinge. Ms Fitzhardinge’s appointment comes as the board farewell’s long-term member Dr Peter Hick.

The State Government thanks Mr Driscoll and Dr Hick for their hard work, dedication and passion for Rottnest Island.

First appointed in 2010, Mr Driscoll has overseen significant governance improvements at the Rottnest Island Authority, as well as an ever increasing level of visitation to the island in balance with rigorous attention to environmental and heritage management.

Under the guidance of new chairperson John Langoulant and executive director Michelle Reynolds, the State Government is confident Rottnest Island will continue to be managed for the benefit of current and future generations of Western Australians.

Tourism Minister Paul Papalia commented, “I thank Mr John Driscoll and Dr Peter Hick for their hard work and dedication to Rottnest Island over the past five years.

“As the leadership baton passes over on the board, I am confident Rottnest Island is in safe hands.

“The Western Australian public, and all visitors to our great State, will continue to see improved access and a refreshed approach on Rottnest Island.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *