Latest News

Gold Coast Suns to field team in AFL Women’s competition in 2020

The Gold Coast Suns have been granted a provisional license to compete in the AFL’s elite women’s competition from 2020.

Major Events Minister and Acting Minister for Women Kate Jones today congratulated the club on being chosen to join the rapidly expanding competition.

“The AFLW took the nation by storm in its inaugural season, surprising many with the massive level of support for the women’s game,” Ms Jones said.

“Seeing these elite sportswomen not only taking on the nation’s best but also getting the public and media recognition they deserve was inspirational.

“And nobody will soon forget the wonderful effort of the Brisbane Lions women’s team to reach the Grand Final of the very first AFLW season.

“An AFLW team at the Gold Coast Suns is a fantastic boost for Junior Girls AFL in the region, where clubs such as Southport, Burleigh and Tweed Coolangatta have been leading the way with a massive growth in player numbers.”

Minister for Sport Mick de Brenni said the announcement of the new Suns team shows the strength of women’s footy in Queensland.

“Women’s footy has a long, strong and proud history in Queensland,” Mr de Brenni said.

“At the beginning of the inaugural women’s season the southern commentators and pundits said the Lions were destined for the wooden spoon and they were dead wrong. 

“The fact of the matter is that women’s footy in Queensland has been as strong as anywhere in the country for a long time.

“The Suns are a great club and are a fantastic choice for expansion. I can’t wait to see a Q-Clash Grand Final in 2020.”

The AFLW will welcome North Melbourne and Geelong to the competition in 2019, followed by the Gold Coast Suns, West Coast Eagles, Richmond and St Kilda in 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *